Cookie Policy

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to use our cookies. Read our Privacy Policy.

EU - FAQ

FAQ

FAQ

Questions

Answers

  • 1. How is the first loss limit calculated?

    This is at the discretion of the proposer and represents the limit that is claimable under this policy. If a claim is made then the limit is reduced by the value lost. If desired, a reinstatement premium can be paid to restore the First Loss Limit to the pre-loss level.


    Back to Questions
  • 2. How is the rate calculated?

    The rate is calculated by looking at all the features of the operations as well as the relationship between the first loss limit and the total amount of stock on site. For this reason it is important that an up-to-date stock inventory is supplied.


    Back to Questions
  • 3. What does this policy cover against?

    This policy covers stock mortality caused by one of the perils in the policy document. Please note that this is a ‘named perils’ policy therefore, in the case of a loss, it will be up to the policyholder to prove that the loss was caused by an insured peril.

    Losses are considered on the production of mortalities.


    Back to Questions
  • 4. What is actually covered?

    Stock is insured as per the indemnity scale in the policy document. This is produced using various pricing models around the UK. Only the species of fish listed are covered under this policy however this, and the indemnity value, can be reviewed on request.


    Back to Questions
  • 5. What isn't covered?

    The two major exclusions under this policy are for losses caused by intentional slaughter and for any single fish.

    It is worth emphasising that if a restriction order is imposed on the site the policy will only pay out in the event of mortality.


    Back to Questions
  • 6. Can I only insure one lake/pond?

    Unfortunately not, the policy will be effective across the site as a whole. This is because it would be difficult to ascertain if a loss had occurred in an insured or uninsured pond.


    Back to Questions
  • 7. Can I only insure my carp?

    Although the indemnity scale lists a number of species that can be insured under the policy, a single species can be insured if desired.

    In these instances we will still require an inventory of the lakes for risk management purposes, however only the value of the carp will be used in the calculation of the sum insured.


    Back to Questions
  • 8. When should I report a loss of fish?

    Any losses that may result in a claim on the policy should be reported as soon as possible by phone, fax or email.

    Once notification has been received Sunderland Marine and Aquaculture Risk Management will be able to provide advice on the most appropriate action to take.


    Back to Questions
  • 9. Will notifying Sunderland Marine of numerous losses that don't result in a claim affect my future renewal?

    No, we actively encourage notifications for any reason. Notification allows Aquaculture Risk Management to assist in managing potential problems to help keep losses to the insured to a minimum.


    Back to Questions
  • 10. What evidence do I need to keep during a loss?

    All primary documentary evidence should be kept for review if the loss results in a claim. Photographs should be taken of mortality and sample weights of the mortality should be taken.


    Back to Questions
  • 11. If theft is suspected should I notify the police?

    Yes, at the same time that Sunderland Marine is notified.


    Back to Questions
  • 12. If disease is suspected what do I do?

    If a disease is suspected the Environmental Agency should be notified as well as Sunderland Marine. A Disease Period will start from notification (we can only go back 72 hours). All mortality will be considered as part of a claim within the next 30 days less the normal expected mortality over a one month period.


    Back to Questions
  • 13. When will my claim be settled?

    We provide a professional and prompt service that will consider each claim on its own merits.


    Back to Questions